SEPA urges coastal communities to sign up to improved Moray Firth flood warning service

date09 March 2015

The Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA) is reminding residents and businesses to get flood-prepared and sign up to the improved coastal flood warning service for the Moray Firth.

Problem with ShowGallery

Seventeen new flood warning areas were introduced by the flood warning scheme, which launched in October 2014, to help vulnerable communities at risk of flooding along the Moray Firth coastline. 

Richard Brown, Head of Hydrology at SEPA, said:

Communities around the Moray Firth have been badly affected by flooding in recent years and it is important that people don’t wait  for the next flood event before taking action.

“We hope that as many people as possible who live and work in, or travel through communities along the Moray Firth coast will register with the improved coastal flood warning service. Signing up to Floodline means that people will receive free advance notification when flooding is predicted, providing crucial time to prepare and protect themselves, and their properties, against the damage which flooding can cause.”

In addition to the Floodline service, which provides direct warnings to people and businesses in Scotland, SEPA is working in partnership with the Met Office through the Scottish Flood Forecasting Service (SFFS). The SFFS provides daily guidance on the potential flood risk for the next five days to all local authorities, emergency services and other emergency responders in Scotland, allowing them to plan their response to flood threats.

Through the Floodline service SEPA currently provides advance flood warnings for over 250 areas across Scotland, and people can sign up to receive free notifications of flood warning messages direct to their choice of mobile or landline numbers at or by calling 0345 988 1188 or 0845 988 1188.


Notes to Editors

SEPA has funded the project to improve the Moray Firth coastal flood forecasting with contributions from Highland Council, Moray Council and Aberdeenshire Council, and has worked closely with the local authorities to develop the new flood warning areas.

The 17 new flood warning areas are:

Highland: Ardersier to Nairn, Inverness Harbour and South Kessock, Inverness City (Ness Bridge to Friars Bridge), Beauly Firth, Rosemarkie to Avoch, Cromarty Firth, Rockfield to Balintore, Portmahomack to Inver, Helmsdale to Embo, Lybster to Dunbeath, and Wick.

Moray: Portgordon to Cullen, Spey Viaduct to Spey Bay, and Findhorn to Lossiemouth

Aberdeenshire: Rosehearty to Fraserburgh, Gardenstown to Pennan, and Portsoy to Macduff.

The River Ness Flood Scheme, currently under construction by Highland Council, will reduce the risk of flooding to properties located within the Inverness Harbour and South Kessock Flood Warning Area and the Inverness City (Ness Bridge to Friars Bridge) Flood Warning Area from Spring 2015.