About SEPA

SEPA fast facts

Founded in 1996, the Scottish Environment Protection Agency’s main role is to protect the environment and human health. We do this by regulating activities that can cause pollution and by monitoring the quality of Scotland’s air, land and water.

SEPA is a non-departmental public body, accountable through Scottish Ministers to the Scottish Parliament.

SEPA's pollution hotline and floodline services (both 24 hour) can be contacted on the numbers below.

Scottish Government

  • Cabinet Secretary for the Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform - Roseanna Cunningham

Corporate address

Strathallan House
Castle Business Park

Tel: 01786 457700
Fax: 01786 446885

SEPA Agency Management Team

SEPA’s Chief Executive leads the Agency Management Team (AMT) which includes two Executive Directors and three Chief Officers.

The Agency Management Team (AMT) report directly to the Board, overseeing strategic planning, business management issues and relationships and change management.

  • Terry A'Hearn - SEPA Chief Executive
  • Ian Buchanan - Chief Officer Compliance and Beyond
  • Jo Green – Chief Officer Performance and Innovation
  • Fiona Martin – Chief Officer People and Property
  • Stewart McGregor - Chief Officer Finance
  • David Pirie – Executive Director

More information and downloadable photographs for each AMT member can be found in biographies

SEPA Board Members

The Board is appointed by Scottish Ministers and comprises a Chairman and ten members, including the Chief Executive. Information on each Board member is available from SEPA’s main website.

  • Bob Downes - SEPA Chairman
  • Terry A'Hearn - SEPA Chief Executive
  • Michelle Francis
  • Nicola Gordon
  • Martin Hill
  • Craig Hume
  • Julie Hutchison
  • Dr Harpreet Kohli
  • Nick Martin
  • Philip Matthews
  • Franceska van Dijk

SEPA Offices

Last updated: July 2019

SEPA has 22 SEPA offices located all over Scotland.

  • Lerwick
  • Kirkwall
  • Thurso
  • Stornoway
  • Dingwall
  • Elgin
  • Fraserburgh
  • Aberdeen
  • Fort William
  • Arbroath
  • Perth
  • Glenrothes
  • Stirling
  • Lochgilphead
  • Balloch
  • Glasgow
  • Edinburgh
  • Angus Smith (near Holytown)
  • Galashiels
  • Ayr
  • Dumfries
  • Newton Stewart

Headcount and funding

Figures are available from the Annual Report and Accounts

Workforce composition

Information on workforce composition, pay audit and equalities can be found in our 'Equality main streaming and outcome report' available on the Our Performance page of SEPA’s main website