About SEPA

SEPA fast facts

Founded in 1996, the Scottish Environment Protection Agency’s main role is to protect the environment and human health. We do this by regulating activities that can cause pollution and by monitoring the quality of Scotland’s air, land and water.

SEPA is a non-departmental public body, accountable through Scottish Ministers to the Scottish Parliament.

SEPA's pollution hotline and floodline services (both 24 hour) can be contacted on the numbers below.

Corporate address

Our offices are closed to all except a few critical staff following the guidance on COVID-19. We are unable to send or receive mail through the post and have put a Keep Safe in place. Please do not send any mail to SEPA at this time.

Angus Smith Building
6 Parklands Avenue


SEPA Corporate Leadership Team

SEPA’s Chief Executive leads the Corporate Leadership Team (CLT) which includes one Executive Directors and six Chief Officers.

The Corporate Leadership Team (CLT) report directly to the Board, overseeing strategic planning, business management issues and relationships and change management.

  • Nicole Paterson, Chief Executive
  • David Pirie, Executive Director
  • Ian Buchanan, Chief Officer, Regulatory Reform and Build
  • Lin Bunten, Acting Chief Officer, Compliance and Beyond
  • David Harley, Acting Chief Officer, Circular Economy
  • John Kenny, Acting Chief Officer, People and Property
  • Bridget Marshall, Chief Officer, Performance and Innovation
  • Angela Milloy, Chief Officer, Finance
  • Kirsty Paterson, Chief Officer, People and Property

More information and downloadable photographs for each CLT member can be found in biographies

SEPA Board Members

The Board is appointed by Scottish Ministers and comprises a Chairman and ten members, including the Chief Executive. Information on each Board member is available from SEPA’s main website.

  • Bob Downes - SEPA Chair
  • Nicole Paterson, Chief Executive
  • Franceska van Dijk - SEPA Deputy Chair
  • Nicola Gordon
  • Martin Hill
  • Craig Hume
  • Julie Hutchison
  • Dr Harpreet Kohli
  • Philip Matthews
  • Dr Vinay Mulgundmath

SEPA Offices

Last updated: May 2021

SEPA has 20 SEPA offices located all over Scotland.

  • Lerwick
  • Kirkwall
  • Thurso
  • Stornoway
  • Dingwall
  • Elgin
  • Fraserburgh
  • Aberdeen
  • Fort William
  • Arbroath
  • Perth
  • Stirling
  • Lochgilphead
  • Balloch
  • Glasgow
  • Angus Smith (near Holytown)
  • Galashiels
  • Ayr
  • Dumfries
  • Newton Stewart

Headcount and funding

Figures are available from the Annual Report and Accounts

Workforce composition

Information on workforce composition, pay audit and equalities can be found in our 'Equality main streaming and outcome report' available on the Our Performance page of SEPA’s main website